Feelings are not Facts

Feelings are not Facts. This is something we teach our guys who are going through Refuge. This concept comes from Abraham Low and his Mental Health Through Will Training. A lot of times we feel a certain way, and because we feel a certain way, we will act a certain way. When we act a certain way, we believe certain things about ourselves that is not true. Let me give an example. If I feel unloved, unacceptable, unworthy, I will act as if I am unloved, unacceptable and unworthy. If I feel and act as if I am unloved, unacceptable or unworthy I will believe that I am not loved, not acceptable, and not worthy. Once all three come together in our mind, we make it a fact, I am unloved, unacceptable and unworthy. Dr. Low explains this, “How is it possible to change feelings info facts? It is accomplished by allowing feelings to be bearers of truth. You see, feelings either are or they are not, they are experienced or they are not, they are present but they are never true or false. Thoughts alone possess the quality of truthiness or falseness. So if feelings tell lies about us they do so because an incorrect or deceptive thought is attached to them. The deception is accomplished by the thought, not the feeling.” With that said, the way to control feelings is by controlling the thoughts, to base the thoughts upon solid facts. Scriptural Truth. It is a FACT, I am loved by God, because of this FACT, I choose to BELIEVE the Word of God as truth. I then can ACT on that truth and my FEELINGS will be different. If we keep our thoughts upon God’s truth, and what He has to say about us and recognize that my feelings are not facts we will live so much differently. By understanding this idea and having a firm knowledge of who we are in Christ, a person can stop being controlled by their feelings. “Truth is what God says regardless of how I feel!” Author unknown.

One response to this post.

  1. nice post! i have read your article and it is really amazing. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

    Like

Love to hear your thoughts....

