What Are You Focused On?

A few days ago I was spending some time with the Lord, and God made it very clear to me that I have been focusing on the wrong things. For so many years I have been focused on my past and the sins I have committed. I just hold to my past even though God has forgiven me of my many, many sins. When I hold onto my past, it keeps me focused on my sin and not on Christ and His grace. This is exactly what the enemy wants me to do. Focusing on past sins, hurts, pain, is paralyzing and it keeps me in a place where I cannot grow. I need to keep my focus on Christ, and not my past. I cannot change it, God has completed forgiven me of it, and I just need to let it go once and for all. Paul said in Philippians 3: 13 “…But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead…” God’s grace just rocks the core of who I am. I remember in detail all the sick sins I have done in my life, and what amazes me is God forgives our sins, but then forgets them. He forgets them; let me say that again, He forgets them. One of my struggles is I beat myself up over my sin that has been forgiven and that in itself is sinful. God wants us to focus purely on Him and the Gospel. One of the ways we keep our focus is meeting with God daily and staying in His word. What does the enemy have you focused on that is taking your eyes off of Christ and the love He wants to pour out onto you?

Love to hear your thoughts....

