An Answer to Prayer and God Grace

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything and it’s been due to a start of a new job. A few months ago I was contacted by another company about a position they had open and within twenty-four hours I had a job offer. God answered my prayer exactly how I asked Him in regards to my job situation. Once again God moved me in a direction where I am still wondering what He is doing with my life. I was so very excited to get out of the job I had, it really was a bad environment for me to be in, but God used that job to give me my new job. Once again after the newness wore off, I am unhappy. For the last twelve years that I have been working, I’ve seen my dreams fade away and God has been taking me places I never thought I would go and doing jobs I didn’t see myself doing. Proverbs 16:9 says, “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” God has been taking me on a course which in my mind doesn’t add up, (but in God’s mind it is perfect.) Why? Well I can think of a lot of reasons why, but it seems like the one thing that God is trying to get into my head and connect my head and heart is that my satisfaction and joy can only come from Him and Him alone. I have to confess, I often try to find that joy and happiness in other places, and my job being a very big one of those places. King Solomon writes in Ecclesiastes 1: 2 “Meaningless! Meaningless! says the Teacher. Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.” In the scope of eternity, nothing on the face of this earth matters besides our relationship with Him. If you read through Ecclesiastes Solomon breaks down different things that are meaningless. Wisdom is meaningless, pleasures are meaningless, and toil is meaningless. Everything is meaningless. The first question of the Shorter Catechism’s asks, “What is man’s primary purpose?” The answer, “Man’s primary purpose is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever.” Our happiness in life, our joy in life is to come from God and God alone. Oh how often do we listen to the enemies lies that the things of this world will fill us? Money, power, sex, drugs, job and the list can go on and on. Only God can fill the deep longings of our hearts, and nothing else. Once again I have to take my disappointments and hurts back to God and allow Him to help me work though them. Yes it hurts and yes it’s hard, but only God can help us with our hurts and disappointments, and you may be very angry at God for something as well. Take that to Him as well because He wants to help you work through that. It is by God’s grace that He doesn’t let us get pleasure from the things that we want to get pleasure from. God uses that to drive us back to Him.

Love to hear your thoughts....

