“Yes, Daddy will always forgive you.”

5a9d31259c0ad47cb6187ab0dfae4b73

Yesterday, as I was walking into our playroom at the house my son came up to me and said, “Daddy, I have something to tell you.” My son went on to tell me how he spilled a snack in my bean bag. He told me he was sorry then asked, “Daddy do you forgive me?” My response back to my son was, “Yes, daddy will always forgive you.” I don’t know how many times I have said that to my son, but every time I say it, I think of God saying that to me. Yes, Daddy will always forgive you, Steven. I hate my sin, and I hate when I turn to the flesh to get my needs meet instead of turning to God to have Him meet my needs. The flesh will never fulfill us and at some point in our lives, we came to believe the lie that the flesh will satisfy us. It never does. God will always forgive us no matter how many times we fail in our flesh. We see God’s grace throughout the pages of the Bible, starting from the book of Genesis. Really we see God’s grace before God said, “Let there be light,” he knew that He would have to send His Son to die on the cross for our sins. “He was chosen before the creation of the world, but was revealed in these last times for your sake.” (1 Peter 1: 20). I have such a hard time wrapping my mind around God’s grace, that’s why I have to accept it by faith and I still struggle to do that at times. When we accept Christ into our hearts, Christ’s blood has covered all our sins, no matter how many times we fail to the flesh. When we mess up, we need to come back to Jesus, confess our sins to Him, ask for His forgiveness and move on in faith that God’s has forgiven us of our sins. What’s really so amazing about God’s grace is that when we ask for his forgiveness, He remembers our sins no more. “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers you sins no more” (Isaiah 43:25) Now God’s grace does not give us permission to sin. Romans 6 deals with that issue very clearly. So many times I keep track of my sins and beat myself up for the sin or sins I just committed. Even after I have asked for God’s forgiveness I still beat myself up. Now that is what the enemy wants us to do. If God can remember our sins no more, then we (speaking to self here) need to move on once we have asked for God’s forgiveness. “Yes, Daddy will always forgive you.”

One response to this post.

  1. I love that quote 🙂

    Like

Love to hear your thoughts....

