The Burn and Recovery

kras

This past weekend I went to an outdoors event where I was going to be outside for several hours. I had been planning for this event all week. I had my list of items I needed to bring, I had made my plan of what I would do throughout the event I was all ready to go. Before I left out of the house I told myself not to forget the sunscreen. I got outside loaded up the car and left. Yep, I forgot my sunscreen. As I was driving I had plenty of time to stop and buy sunscreen but I kept telling myself that it won’t be so bad today. It’s partly cloudy and I will stick to my plan and won’t be out in the sun as long so on I went. Well, the sun came out in full and I kept telling myself to follow my plan to go see the things I want to see then head back to the shaded area for the rest of the day. Well, I kept pushing it. I told myself it’s ok, it won’t be that bad, even though my body started to tell me otherwise. My body was screaming, I am burning. Well, when I realized I need to get out of the sun, it was too late, the damage was already done. I was burned on the top of my head, (I have really short, short hair), my face, arms, and legs. The only thing not burned on my face was where my sunglasses were at. I was miserable and in pain and have been miserable for the last few days.

I didn’t follow my plan and I am paying for it. There were a lot of things I should have done, but it’s now too late. Our recovery is the same way. No matter if we have been in recovery for 20 years, 15 years, 10 years, 5 years or just starting out we have to have a plan and we have to stick to our plan. When guys start going through the recovery process with us here at Refuge we put a plan together for them as they start their recovery. When we get away from our plan or push the limits, saying I am ok, I don’t need to reach out for help yet, we fall and we get burned. Plans are a good thing. They keep us on track. If I had followed my plan I wouldn’t be dealing with a sunburn. My skin will heal and hopefully, I have learned my lesson. The same goes for recovery. We may get burned (more than likely we will at some point) but it’s not the end of the world. We have a God who loves , will never reject us, will forgive us, and will put the pieces back together. Recovery is a life long journey and we have to have a plan for our recovery and we have to have others helping us stay working on our plan, if not we will continue to get burned if we don’t follow our plan for recovery.

One response to this post.

  1. bookmarked!!, I really like your website!

    Like

Love to hear your thoughts....

