I Need More Of The Gospel!

gospel

This morning I was praying as I was driving into work, sharing my feelings with the Lord. I stopped and said I need more of the Gospel. I could hear myself speaking the lies of the enemy that I still believe in my heart. I am a broken mess and God still has a lot of work to do with me. A friend of mine makes the statement, “We need to disciple non-believers, and preach the Gospel to believers.” This statement is so true,so often as believers, we forget about the Gospel. We think the Gospel is only for those who don’t know the Lord. As believers, we have to be preaching the Gospel to our self’s each and every day and that’s not just reading the four Gospel’s of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. Every story in the Bible, every passage points to Jesus. The Gospel is found throughout the entire Bible. We need to be reading the truths of God’s work each and every day, we need to be studying God’s word every day and applying His truth to our lives. We need to be wrestling with scripture and asking the Lord to turn our hearts more to Him. Another friend of mine shared this the other day….”To most Christians, the Bible is like a software license. Nobody actually reads it. They just scroll to the bottom and click “I agree.” ~ Tweet from a skeptic in an article by Dan Kimball in “A New Kind of Apologetic”
There is a hard truth to swallow in this criticism. If Christians do not take the Bible seriously, why should others …?” Great question. One I have been thinking through. How seriously am I taking God’s Word? I know I need more of God’s Word, I need more of Him. How about you?

Love to hear your thoughts....

