Just be yourself!

 

popular-people

“Everywhere I go, I meet people, old and young, from all over the world, and they tell me about their lives, their relationships, their broken families, their addictions, shame, guilt, failures. You’ll never be able to speak into their souls unless you speak the truth about your own wounds. You need to tell them what Jesus has come to mean to you in the midst of your disappointments and losses. All ministry begins at the ragged edges of our own pain” – (quote from “Chasing Francis” by Ian Morgan Cron).

I read this quote above tonight and was struck by the truth it contains….it starts with relationship….who Jesus is to me…who I am to Him in the mess of my brokenness, failure, and pain.  It is a love relationship with the One who holds my tomorrow….the One who holds together every cell in the universe…and yet He loves me….individually, uniquely and perfectly. I love Jesus because He first loved me. That is who I am….a lover and worshiper.

The passage in the book goes on to read, “Do you know the story of Rabbi Zusya?…He was a Chasidic master who lived in the 1700’s. One day he said, ‘When I get to the heavenly court, God will not ask me, ‘Why weren’t you Moses? Rather He will ask me, ‘Why were you not Zusya?’”…..

I want to stop trying to be someone else…..like young David trying to wear Saul’s armor….instead I long to be who God created me to be.  To love Him for myself not through someone else’s faith or understanding. I want to love God in the “joy and wreckage” of my own life.

 

 

 

One response to this post.

  1. I could not refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

    Like

Love to hear your thoughts....

