Weakness

elite-team-site-ii-163

 

It’s amazing how our society and culture view weaknesses as a bad thing. What’s even more amazing is how God views weaknesses as a great thing! Look what Paul says in 2 Corinthians 12: 9 “But he said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” Paul wrote half of the New Testament, had a life-altering experience when Jesus confronted him on the road to Damascus. Paul formerly known as Saul, who used to ravage the early Church, had struggles. Paul talked about having a “thorn in the flesh,” now we don’t know what this was, it could have been a physical issue, a personal struggle, we don’t know, but Paul asked the Lord to remove this issue, and God chose not to. Hence 2 Corinthians 12:9. Whatever Paul’s issue was God’s grace was sufficient for Him, and God’s power was made perfect in his weakness for him to endure. this thorn. The same applies to us today. God’s power and grace is made perfect in our weaknesses. Being weak is not bad. If we look at all the leaders in the Bible, all of them there weak, broken, people that God used to do mighty things. By their reliance on God, they were strong leaders. When we get to a place and we can admit we are weak and broken God can do so much with that because we are saying God I cannot do it, I NEED YOU! There are so many who don’t want to show their weaknesses so they have worn their mask so others don’t see this weakness.

https://refugenortheast.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/taking-your-mask-off-healing

Being weak is not bad, it’s good because God is the one who helps us day in and day out with our brokenness and weakness.

Weaknesses – A prayer of the Puritans

O Spirit of God,

Help my infirmities; when I am pressed down with a load of sorrow, perplexed and knowing not what to do, slandered and persecuted, made to feel the weight of the cross, help me, I pray thee. If thou seest in my any wrong thing encouraged, any evil desired cherished, any delight that is not thy delight, any habit that grieves thee, any nest of sin in my heart, then grant me the kiss of thy forgiveness, and teach my feet to walk the way of thy commandments. Deliver me from carking care, and make me a happy, holy person; help me to walk the separated life with firm and brave step, and to wrestle successfully against weakness; teach me to laud, adore, and magnify thee, with the music of heaven, and make me a perfume of  gratitude to thee. I do not crouch at thy feet as a slave before a tyrant, but exult before thee as a son with a father. Give me power to live as thy child in all my actions, and to exercise sonship by conquering self. Preserve me from the intoxication that comes of prosperity; sober me when I am glad with a joy that comes not from thee. Lead me safely on to the eternal kingdom, not asking whether the road be rough or smooth. I request only to see the face of him I love, to be content with bread to eat, with raiment to put on, if I can be brought to thy house in peace.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Weakness […]

    Like

Love to hear your thoughts....

